Polk Charter

Polk County, FL


Lakeland Town Hall Meeting

Bartow, Fla. (May 2, 2018) —  The Charter Review Commission will meet Monday, May 14, 2018, at 6:00 p.m. at the City of Lakeland, 228 S. Massachusetts Avenue, 3rd Floor, Lakeland, FL 33801.


I.             Call to Order – 6:00 p.m. – Alice Hunt, Chairperson

II.            Pledge of Allegiance – Alice Hunt, Chairperson

III.          Charter Review Commission Introductions

IV.          Polk County Charter Review Overview – Alice Hunt, Chairperson

V.           Polk County Efficiency Commission – Alice Hunt, Chairperson

              a.    Ballot Summary – Amendment Number 1

VI.          Board of County Commissioner Term Limits – Alice Hunt, Chairperson

              a.     Ballot Summary – Amendment Number 2

VII.         Polk County Charter Review Commission – Alice Hunt, Chairperson

              a.      Ballot Summary – Amendment Number 3

VIII.         Financial Report – Alice Hunt, Chairperson

               a.      Total Savings to Tax Payers

IX.           Public/Audience Comments – Alice Hunt, Chairperson
               Each speaker addressing the Charter Review Commission at the Town Hall
               Meetings are kindly asked to fill out a Request to Speak during the Public 
               Comment Section.  Please hand the cards to the Secretary at the meeting.
               Once called to speak by the Chairperson, please announce his or her name
               and address for the record before beginning remarks.  By rule of the
               Commission, each speaker is given three (3) minutes to make a presentation
               on any topic regarding the Polk County Charter, which includes the items
               mentioned on the agenda.  While making remarks, speakers should refrain
               from personal attacks and derogatory comments, discussing items in
               litigation or under investigation, and commenting on matters unrelated to Polk
               County and the Polk County Charter.

X.            Closing Comments – Alice Hunt, Chairperson

XI.           Adjourn